Got Birthday Cake?? Do you wish on candles?

Once upon a time, there was a birthday without a cake and candles to wish upon.  But dreams and wishes can still come true.

It’s my birthday week!  I’m now 36.  Ugg, I said that out loud.  I’m now officially closer to 40.  I’ve lived away from home just as long as I lived at home.  Now that could upset me.  That could make me feel old, especially with a husband who has yet to turn 30… but it doesn’t.  I’m excited to be 36 because I’m excited for what 36 holds for me.  I have some big dreams I plan to realize this year.  And not looking 36 helps a bit too (as I sit here in the middle of an anti-age facial).

I’m happy to say that I’ve taken the past week or so “off” of my regular internet travels.  But, before this unexpected break, I read a few great posts about wishing and dreaming, not to forget the fabulous book by one of my mentors (“The Effortless Yes” by Julie Steelman) in which she discusses action vs. dreaming and “dusting off your moxie.”  I don’t know how it happened since I was surrounded by my hubby, my princess, my bestie and her family, my mom, and my cousin (not to mention a day out with friends the next day), but I survived my birthday weekend without a cake or a song… and without candles to wish on. Sitting here a few days later, I realize that I don’t need to wish on a candle.  What I need to realize my dreams is a belief in myself, a belief in the products I represent, a belief in my mission to help others unmask their radiance, awaken their sparkle, and create the lives of their dreams, and the knowledge that what I DO matters more than any “birthday wish” I could make.  I also believe that positive thoughts can realize positive outcomes and putting it out in the universe in the correct manner does help.  So for all of you who didn’t have birthday candles to wish on this year, I offer us this:

What are you wishing for and what are you planning to do to make it come true?  And like the Genie in “Aladdin” says, “No wishing for more wishes.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana Meyer
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 14:12:13

    Brenda – love your blog and belated Happy Birthday! So true about wishes, but I like to think of it this way: sometimes without wishes and dreams we can’t get to the next level in our personal or professional life. I also believe in positive thoughts and in putting it out there verbally for the universe to hear and see and they’ll come true! My wish is to become a paid speaker and I’m starting by teaching seminars!

    Reply

  2. Julieanne Case
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 14:09:57

    We seem to put so much value on little things, like having a cake with candles for our birthday. None of this is necessary. Yet we sometimes count on it. Is it to make us feel we are loved? Or to be validated? I like what you did. We should all allow ourselves to wish for ourselves and that opens it up beyond a birthday! Belated Happy birthday!

    Julieanne Case
    Always from the heart!
    Blog: http://www.julieannecasefromtheheart.com
    Owner Practitioner of The Reconnective Highway
    Reconnecting you to your essence, joy, vitality, youth.| Healing you from the Inside Out |Reconnective Healing | AgeLoc
    http://www.thereconnectivehighway.com

    Reply

  3. jonesrandf
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 11:43:13

    Thank you Julieanne! It’s funny the little things we come to count on as kids that continue into adulthood.

    Reply

  4. Julie Labes
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 17:54:40

    Happy Belated Birthday. It is not wishes that become things, it’s thoughts, so just keep thinking and feeling about what it is you want and you will achieve it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

